Fernweh

I fell in love with with a place I’ve never been to. A place on Earth so ruggedly beautiful, a natural wonder, a forgotten gem on a densely populated planet. I fell in love with place full of nature’s colours, untouched by man, and carved out by water and time. A place I thought only existed in dreams.

Maybe I fell in love because it is unknown. Maybe I fell in love because I met some of its people. Maybe I fell in love because I wish to escape this life and its reality. Only my heart can say.

Words on a page cannot describe what such a place stirs within my heart. Words spoken aloud would inadequately paint a picture of the majestic location touched by the Creator’s fingerprint. Pictures can only capture part of its exquisite existence.

One day, one day, my feet will roam those mountains. One day, my story will lead me to this place. For I know that my life has been leading me on a path to this place. It is a promise that beats steadily within my chest.

The mountains are calling and I must go. The ocean is roaring and I must answer. The waterfalls are beckoning and I find that I cannot resist.

You will find me where the air touches the water, the earth touches the sky. You will find me at the ocean’s edge, high on the cliffs, chasing the sun.

Leave a comment